Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

Search Micromat Forum

Keyword

TOPIC: TTP 8.0.5 - computer Volume missing from Tests and Tools windows

TTP 8.0.5 - computer Volume missing from Tests and Tools windows 08 Aug 2016 07:07 #7446

I've been using TechTool since 2008, and it's done superbly until several weeks ago. I'm on an iMac, and both the iMac and TechTool had been fully up-to-date. I was running TTP 8.0.4 just fine, until some time in June. Then suddenly my Volume was missing from both Tests and Tools. I could only run the suite of tests "Run Check Computer" but could not run any TOOLS. I can't create an eDrive, either, because it's saying "No source volume found." I contacted Micromat and had lengthy emails regarding this, but it has not been fixed. Micromat said that TTP can't run Tools on an encrypted disk, and to decrypt the disk and try running TT again. They also guided me through an uninstall and reinstall of the app, but that didn't work. I consulted with an Apple technician for roughly an hour, as well, and my computer should be fine and has been running perfectly fine, otherwise. They said to try Micromat's suggestion, to decrypt my disk. My disk has always been encrypted, but I tried this suggestion. It did not resolve the problem.I haven't changed settings on my computer, in terms of what else might be causing this problem. I don't know what else to do. It seems unwise to pay an additional $40.00 for TTP 9 if I can't be certain that it will resolve the problem. It's so disappointing, given that TTP has been a very useful app all these years.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

TTP 8.0.5 - computer Volume missing from Tests and Tools windows 08 Aug 2016 10:01 #7447

Thanks for your clear and detailed description of the history of the problem.